Official Supporter of TEAM ABN AMRO in the Volvo Ocean Race

Trophée Clairefontaine

Sanderson fourth overall at Clairefontaine

3 September 2006
For somebody who as not raced on multihulls since he was 16 years old, champion Mike Sanderson has performed very well in his first Trophée Clairefontaine. The skipper of ABN AMRO ONE finished fourth overall in the 17th edition of the event just behind of Trophée Clairefontaine legend Loïck Peyron, who already won this race seven times.

“We really have fun with the guys. It was a great opportunity to race against them. Despite of not having done any racing on this kind of small multihulls since I am 16 but I really enjoyed it. It was interesting to see that we were competitive upwind. Downwind was fine. But for the reaching, we were definitely not as good as a team like Peyron. I think their multihull background obviously make a big difference. But we also have a weight disadvantage. We have just realized that we were 43 kilos heavier than the Peyron guys", said Mike Sanderson.

Thanks to three victorious legs out of the nine ones sailed since yesterday morning and to a nice regularity during the entire weekend, Franck Cammas is the winner of the 17th Trophée Clairefontaine for the second time. His first victory was in 2000.

Franck Cammas snatched the victory after a long duel with Jérémie Beyou who finally finished second though he was leading at the start of the ninth and last regatta. Loïck Peyron, last year’s winner, also well contributed to the show this weekend and ended up on the third step of the podium.


© TEAM ABN AMRO | Jean-Marie Liot / SailingOne |

Sanderson second on first day Clairefontaine

2 September 2006
by Press Office Trophée Clairefontaine

The 17th Trophée Clairefontaine des Champions de Voile began this morning in La Trinité-sur-Mer with three Raids in the Bay of Quiberon and a run on the nautical stadium of the harbour. Mike Sanderson finished second overall on the first racing day just behind the Franck Cammas and Loïck Peyron. Peyron is a legend of this traditional event, he has already won seven times since its first edition in 1990.

At 9.30 a.m. the eight champions crossed the starting line of the first Raid of the day. Close-hauled in a 12 knot South West breeze, Franck Cammas immediately imposes the rhythm and takes the lead leaving Vincent Riou and Pascal Bidégorry to a fierce tactical battle behind him. Mike didn’t need much time to tame the one-design catamaran of the Trophée Clairefontaine, he finished the first Raid in second. The surprise in this Raid was Loïck Peyron, seventh and Michel Desjoyeaux, eighth, were the tail-enders of the first trial of the day.

The second Raid to l’Ile de Houat, took place in a refreshing breeze. Due to a penalty on the starting line, Mike Sanderson was far behind when he entered the Bay of Quiberon. However, thanks to an audacious strategy, he brilliantly anticipated the change of the wind direction in the middle of the bay and then again towards the finish area, thus accomplishing a superb “spoon” (a big detour below the direct route wind) and crossing in front of the seven other champions. A very nice operation for the Volvo Ocean Race titleholder! Jérémie Beyou, also well inspired finished second and Franck Cammas third. The usual big names: Loïck Peyron and Michel Desjoyeaux, a little manhandled by the new watch finish once again at unusual ranks, respectively fifth and seventh.

In the third and last Raid of the day, Loïck Peyron achieved a thunderous comeback under an irregular breeze quite strong under the clouds. Michel Desjoyeaux finished in second. After these three Raids, Franck Cammas is the winner of the Challenge Quo Vadis, in front of Mike Sanderson and Loïck Peyron.

A first Run has concluded the day. The eight champions made the show in the nautical stadium of la Trinité-sur-Mer in front of a high number of spectators massed on the Loïck Caradec jetty. Franck Cammas signed his second victory of the day ensuring his leadership before the five last Runs tomorrow afternoon from 2 to 4 p.m. on the nautical stadium. Loïck Peyron and Mike Sanderson came second and third.


© TEAM ABN AMRO | Justine Ozoux / Pitch PR |

Sanderson to race the Trophée Clairefontaine

30 August 2006
Before racing the Maxi Yacht Rolex Cup next week, skipper Mike Sanderson will compete the 17th Trophée Clairefontaine as the international star of this year's edition. The regatta will take place in Trinité-sur-Mer, in Bretagne, northwest of France, with official competitions starting this Saturday 2nd and Sunday 3rd of September.

The Trophée Clairefontaine, held every year since 1990, is raced by eight sailing champions who have accepted the invitation of the Papeteries de Clairefontaine and of Yvan Griboval, Managing Director of this traditional nautical show. All eight yachtsmen are equipped with the same almost eight-metre catamarans and the race comes down to a test of ability.

The three-crew teams will be racing on the SailingOne one-design catamaran (25 foot - 7.65 metre) exclusively designed and entrusted by the event organization to each of the champions for their use, once a year in the Trophée Clairefontaine. This is the only sailing event in the world to unite champions from different disciplines on a totally equal footing.

Racing the Trophée Clairefontaine for the first time with the SailingOne with grey spinnaker, Mike Sanderson has the fellow ABN AMRO ONE sailors Rob Greenhalgh and Sidney Gavignet in his crew. “The Trophée Clairefontaine should be a fun event and I’m really looking forward to the experience although the SailingOne one-design catamaran is not exactly my speciality”, said Mike Sanderson.

The course
Unlike the majority of sailing events, the Trophée Clairefontaine takes place in a nautical stadium in front of spectators. Access to the location is open to all and free of charge. At the Trinité-sur-Mer, all the different phases of the regattas are played out in front of the public who can follow their favourite champions racing by just a few metres from the docksides.

The champions
The competition for Mike Sanderson and his crew promises to be very challenging with the presence of some of the most talented French sailors. Michel Desjoyeaux, for example, has already won the Trophée Clairefontaine three times (2001, 2003, and 2004) and Loïck Peyron seven times (1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002, and 2005).